General Conference Vice Presidents Re-Elected

The Executive Committee of the Seventh-day Adventist Church voted to re-The Seventh-day Adventist Church executive committee has voted to accept the seven names recommended to them for General Vice-President by the 2022 General Conference Session nominating committee. The seven names include five current vice-presidents, Abnor De Los Santos, Geoffrey Mbwana, Thomas Lemon, and Guillermo E. Biaggi and two new names, Audrey Andersson and Maurice Valentine. Andersson was serving as executive secretary in the Trans-European Division (TED) and Maurice Valentine, who was serving as a vice-president in the North American Division (NAD).

Dr. Ella Simmons, who came on stage to chair this portion of the business meeting, had announced her retirement prior to this year’s GC Session.

Lowell Cooper, chair of the nominating committee, offered a word of explanation as to why the vice-presidents were being voted as a block, rather than individually.

“We’re going to present the report of a group of vice-presidents,” he said. “We would ask the session to accept the report, rather than voting on individual names, to vote on the panel of names that is presented.”

“The nominating committee has discussed the matter carefully, recognizes the challenges that comes from trying to balance depth of experience with breadth of representation.”

The motion passed with more than 96 percent of the vote.

Article By:  Adventist News Network (ANN)

Photography: Noel Sibanda

izmir escort